Sick Day = Crafty day

I woke up this morning feeling awful. Achy- nauseous- head throbbing- grouchy awful.  So like any good mom I put a Disney movie on and curled up on the couch until I started to feel a little like a human being. By the time I felt me enough to have a cup of coffee, it was too late to go into my classroom and still make it to my daughter’s doctor appointment. So instead of spending the day cleaning my messy house like I should have, I made a few little things for my classroom!

I was really inspired by this picture I found on Pinterest. I generally have students who need me write their names on the board while I am meeting with a student, but the names don’t move themselves up the board and before I know it the names are out of order. So needless to say the “take a number idea”  really appeals to me.  So I made up my own version. I used a wooden oval I bought at Dollar Tree, painted it brown, and modge podged letters I cut out of fabric scraps. I added a small nail and made five paper circles that I numbered 1-5. I will laminate the circles when I get to school.

There are certain class times where I am not working with a designated group, but still have the ability to work with students one on one. During times like this, I will ask students to take a number. After they have met with me, they can return the number to the sign, and another student can get their number.

I found this cute little bin at Target in the dollar spot and knew it would be perfect to hang by my door for notes from students. I simply added some sticker letters (clearly I am down to the end of the sheet- I used all different fonts) and mp-ed it on for good measure. I also bought darling suction cup hangers that had big pink flowers on them. I am going to fit it into my pegboard and hang the note basket from it!

I also had this box from a Bare Minerals purchase that I loved to much to get rid of. It has a nice flap lid and  is pretty and sturdy. But the front said something about beauty and didn’t work for the classroom setting. So I covered the flap in paper and wrote Idea Box on it. This will be on my desk and will allow students to share ideas about anything they think we should do in the classroom- new projects, free time activities, etc.

 

So all in all, I felt it was a pretty productive sick day! I will try to get into my classroom for a few hours tomorrow to get my boards covered in paper and sort my textbooks.

Then I have one last official weekday of summer that I really do get to spend cleaning (guests coming this weekend!) Then into the classroom on Monday!

About teachinginpink

I'm a full time mom and part time fashion designer, and overtime teacher. I teach fifth grade at a Catholic school. Due to my slim parochial school budget and my naturally crafty ways, I love to get creative with my teaching!

Posted on August 10, 2011, in Back to School, Organization and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

