Yikes! What does your room look like?

I was given the green light to get into my classroom today. I was very excited to get the big items back in their places so I could start to focus on the little things. I packed my two girls, a picnic lunch, and those sweet furniture slider things. I thought I was really going to make a dent today…

However, my principal seemed to overlook some little things of her own. The trim around my new carpet is not complete so I couldn’t move any of my furniture against the wall! So basically I got nothing accomplished today. It was so very nice to see my new carpet though. Granted, it is brown and not so pretty, but my old carpet was blood red and over 30 years old! I also discovered that the movers put several of my filing cabinets and desks into the wrong classroom and I can not move those myself, so hopefully we will have a maintenance person in soon. I would hate for the sixth grade teacher to come and set up er room only to find her classroom full of my stuff!

Here is a picture of what my classroom looks like right now:

And my teacher closet is a little overwhelming for me as well:

I was pretty excited to find a pilot reading curriculum set waiting in my room though. We use Open Court Reading and I am just not a fan of using this in the upper grades. I prefer novel studies and guided reading to the anthology books. I am interested to look though the books and see how I like it. We are up for a new literacy curriculum next year, so I am happy to give this a try. Do any of you use Reading Street? If nothing else it feels good to have some shiny new samples to read through!

Also waiting for me in my box were the two books I asked my principal to order for me over the summer. I think these will both fit very nicely into my reading program. I love finding resources that are already created that supplement what you are already doing!

And just for fun, this is how I spent my weekend!

So tell me, if you have not already started your year, how does your classroom look right now? Are you ready for all the back to school goodness?

About teachinginpink

I'm a full time mom and part time fashion designer, and overtime teacher. I teach fifth grade at a Catholic school. Due to my slim parochial school budget and my naturally crafty ways, I love to get creative with my teaching!

Posted on August 1, 2011, in Back to School, Organization and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Your room actually looks better than mine!! Hopefully by tomorrow it will look better! I love your blog title! I thought about naming mine “The Pink Cardigan” but I didn’t think it sounded teacher-y enough. “Teaching in Pink” is an adorable blog name! Thanks for finding me!

Leave a Reply

